2020 Alabama Hemp Program Update
MONTGOMERY, Ala. - The Alabama Hemp program launched in the beginning of 2019, after the Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018 (i.e. Farm Bill) declassified hemp as a schedule 1 drug and deemed hemp as an agriculture commodity. This legislation defines hemp as all parts of the plant containing less than 0.3% THC, including derivatives, extracts, and cannabinoids.
Currently, the Alabama Department of Agriculture and Industries (ADAI) is awaiting an interim final rule to be published by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) pertaining to hemp. Because USDA has not yet issued interim rules, we must, unfortunately, delay the opening of the application period beyond Monday, September 23, 2019.
Upon the release and review of the interim final hemp rule, ADAI will open the application period. The anticipated dates for accepting hemp applications for the 2020 Hemp Program will be October 7, 2019 through November 14, 2019. Hemp applications will be open to growers, processors/handlers, and universities. For more information and updates, please visit: http://agi.alabama.gov/industrial-hemp.
The 2020 Hemp Program Registration period for Growers, Processors/Handlers, and Universities will run from October 7, 2019 to November 14, 2019. All applications must be post marked no later than November 14, 2019. You must submit a Criminal Background Check report along with your application (or submit it no later than November 25) and the $200 non-refundable application fee. Make the check payable to ADAI or AL Dept of Agriculture & Industries. If you do not submit the required Criminal Background report, check, or fully complete the application, your submitted documents will be returned to you, and could delay or prevent your application being approved.
Applications will be posted on the website prior to the opening of the annual application period of October 7,2019.
ALL 2020 CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS SHOULD BE OBTAINED BETWEEN OCTOBER 7, 2019 and November 14, 2019 [Background Reports requested from ALEA later in October must be submitted to ADAI no later than 5:00 p.m. on November 25, 2019]
If you have been a resident of the state of Alabama for five (5) years or more, please follow the In-State Criminal Background document.
If you have been a resident of the state of Alabama for less than 5 years, please follow the Out-of-State Criminal Background document for the state you previously resided in.
If you are currently a resident in another state, please follow the Out-of-State Criminal Background document for the state you reside in.