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Title 2 Agriculture 

Regulation of Dealers in Livestock for Purposes of  
Resale, Market or Slaughter 

Article 3, Section 2-15-40 ~ Section 2-15-48 

Section 2-15-40 

"Dealer" defined. 

Every person engaged in the business of buying livestock as defined in 
Section 2-15-20 for resale or slaughter or who engages in the business of 
transporting, hauling or driving livestock as defined in Section 2-15-20 
along any public road or highway of Alabama for resale, market or 
slaughter or who engages in the business of slaughtering such livestock 
shall be deemed to be a dealer for the purposes of this article. 

(Acts 1936, Ex. Sess., No. 190, p. 222; Code 1940, T. 2, §384; Acts 1979, No. 79-774, p. 1376, 
§1; Acts 1994, No. 94-322, p. 562, §3.) 

Section 2-15-41 

Dealer's permit required; permit fee and plates for vehicles used in 
hauling or transporting livestock; relation to Article 6 of chapter. 

No dealer, except as provided in this section, may engage in any 
business described in Section 2-15-40 without a permit. Every dealer 
shall annually, on or before October 1, file an application with the 
commissioner for a permit to engage in the business. The application 
shall be made upon forms furnished by the Department of Agriculture and 
Industries and shall contain such information as may be required. The fee 
for every permit, except as provided in this section, shall be established 
by the Board of Agriculture and Industries not to exceed thirty-seven 
dollars fifty cents ($37.50), which shall be paid to the commissioner and 
deposited in the State Treasury to the credit of the Agricultural Fund. If 
such permit fee is not paid within 45 days from the date on which the fee 
is due, a delinquent penalty of 15 percent shall be added. 



Every dealer who also engages in the business of transporting or hauling 
for hire cattle, sheep, goats, or hogs along any public road or highway of 
Alabama for resale, market, or slaughter shall pay an annual permit fee 
established by the Board of Agriculture and Industries not to exceed 
thirty-seven dollars fifty cents ($37.50) for each vehicle used in hauling or 
transporting such livestock, and the commissioner, under rules 
promulgated by the Board of Agriculture and Industries, shall issue a 
suitable permit plate or annual decal for proper identification of each 
vehicle used by dealers in hauling or transporting livestock for resale, 
market, or slaughter. 

Any dealer who procures a license as a dealer pursuant to the 
requirements of Article 6 of this chapter and who otherwise complies with 
the provisions of Article 6 of this chapter shall not be required to obtain 
the annual permit nor pay the fee therefor as required under this section, 
but every such dealer shall comply with the other provisions and 
requirements of this article; provided, that any dealer who is required to 
procure a license by Article 6 of this chapter who also engages in the 
business of transporting or hauling for hire cattle, sheep, goats, or hogs 
along any public road or highway in Alabama shall also be required to 
procure a permit and pay the fee therefor as required under this section. 

(Acts 1936, Ex. Sess., No. 190, p. 222; Code 1940, T. 2, §385; Acts 1953, No. 226, p. 292; Acts 
1976, No. 363, p. 448, §1; Act 2004-516, p. 996, §1; Act 2017-226, §1.) 

Section 2-15-42 

Forfeiture of dealer's permit. 

Any dealer as defined in Section 2-15-40 who willfully violates any of the 
rules and regulations of the Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries 
lawfully made under the provisions of this article, shall forfeit the permit 
as such dealer in addition to any other penalty or punishment provided by 
law. 

(Acts 1936, Ex. Sess., No. 190, p. 222; Code 1940, T. 2, §391.) 

Section 2-15-43 

Dealers to obtain, etc., bills of sale upon purchase of livestock as 
defined in Section 2-15-20; dealers transporting livestock for hire 
upon public roads or highways to issue waybills or bills of lading; 
transporting of livestock without bill of sale, etc.; dealer, etc., to 
exhibit bill of sale, etc., upon demand by sheriff, etc. 

All such dealers shall be required to obtain from the owner or seller, on 
purchase of any livestock as defined in Section 2-15-20, a bill of sale 



therefor, upon such forms as may be prescribed by the Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Industries and shall, on purchase, leave with such owner 
or seller a copy or duplicate of such bill of sale. 

Dealers engaged in the business of transporting or hauling for hire 
livestock as defined in Section 2-15-20 along any public road or highway 
shall issue a waybill or bill of lading for all livestock hauled or transported 
by them containing such information as may be required by rules and 
regulations approved by the State Board of Agriculture and Industries. 

It shall be unlawful for any dealer or his agent or employee to drive, haul 
or otherwise transport any such livestock along or upon any public road 
or highway in Alabama unless such dealer or his agent or employee shall 
have in his possession accompanying such hauling or shipment or 
transportation the original or a duplicate copy of the bill of sale, waybill or 
bill of lading as required by this section for any such livestock so being 
driven, hauled or transported, and the dealer or his agent or employee or 
other person in charge of such livestock shall on demand exhibit said 
accompanying bill of sale, waybill or bill of lading to any sheriff, deputy or 
other officer of the law. 

(Acts 1936, Ex. Sess., No. 190, p. 222; Code 1940, T. 2, §386; Acts 1976, No. 363, p. 448, §2; 
Acts 1994, No. 94-322, p. 562, §4.) 

Section 2-15-45 

Promulgation of rules and regulations as to conduct, management 
and operation of business of dealers. 

Power is hereby conferred upon the Commissioner of Agriculture and 
Industries, with the approval of the State Board of Agriculture and 
Industries, to establish rules and regulations not inconsistent with law for 
the conduct, management and operation of any business as defined in 
this article, including the making, keeping and inspection of records to 
facilitate the tracing and identification of such livestock, the records to be 
kept and reports made and other like matters provided for to protect 
against stealing or unlawful dealing in or transportation of such livestock. 

(Acts 1936, Ex. Sess., No. 190, p. 222; Code 1940, T. 2, §389.) 

Section 2-15-46 

Violation of provisions of article deemed misdemeanor. 

Any person violating any provisions of this article shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor. 

(Acts 1936, Ex. Sess., No. 190, p. 222; Code 1940, T. 2, §390.) 



Section 2-15-47 

Applicability of provisions of article. 

The provisions of this article shall not apply to the buying, transportation 
or resale of cattle, hogs, sheep or goats when the buying, transportation 
or resale of such livestock is for the purpose of grazing, feeding or milking 
of such livestock by the person so buying, transporting or reselling such 
livestock. 

(Acts 1936, Ex. Sess., No. 190, p. 222; Code 1940, T. 2, §388.) 

Section 2-15-48 

Permits required by article cumulative; article not to prohibit 
adoption by municipalities of sanitary rules or regulations for 
conduct of dealer's business. 

The payment of the permit fees provided for in this article shall be in 
addition to any license or licenses now or hereafter required to be paid to 
the State of Alabama or any county or any incorporated city or town for 
the privilege of conducting such business or businesses, and nothing 
contained in this article shall prohibit any incorporated city or town from 
adopting sanitary rules or regulations for the conduct of any such 
business within such city or town. 

(Acts 1936, Ex. Sess., No. 190, p. 222; Code 1940, T. 2, §392.) 

 

 


