Montgomery, Ala. USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) announced a Secretarial natural disaster designation for five Alabama counties as primary natural disaster areas due to a recent drought. Additional areas in the state and adjacent states were named as contiguous disaster counties.

This designation will extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from drought through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

The five primary Alabama counties included in the disaster designation are Baldwin, Conecuh, Escambia, Mobile and Monroe.

The five contiguous Alabama counties included in the disaster designation are Butler, Clarke, Covington, Washington and Wilcox.

For more information or to learn about program options, visit Find your local USDA Service Center at