6/16/14 Until further notice:
- Horses coming to Alabama from Texas will need a negative coggins within the last 12 months and a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI). The CVI must have a statement by the accredited veterinarian stating "these horses are not from an area quarantined for VS and do not show any signs of VS."
- Swine coming to Alabama must have a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI) and a statement by the accreditated veterinarian stating "these animals do not originate from a premises quarantined for PEDv in the last 12 months and are not showing any signs of any contagious disease such as PEDv." The CVI needs to include a premises number if known and adult breeding animals must have official ID. Please review the information and link provided in the "News" section for more facts about PEDv and the importance of strict biosecurity in preventing spread of PEDv.
- All domestic animals and poultry entering the State of Alabama must conform with Alabama’s requirements contained herein and be in compliance with Federal regulations.
- All livestock and poultry brought into the State shall be accompanied by an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection stating that the animals are healthy, free from symptoms of infectious or contagious disease and meet the specific requirements stated these regulations.
An official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection is a legible record covering the requirements of the State of Alabama, accomplished on an official form of a standard size from the state of origin and approved by the animal health official in the state of origin, or an equivalent form from the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Services, U.S. Department of Agriculture, and issued by an accredited veterinarian. The Certificate of Veterinary Inspection shall contain the names and addresses of the consignor and consignee, the origin of the animals, their final destination, and an accurate description or identification of the livestock; also, it shall indicate the health status of the animals involved, including dates and results of required tests and dates of vaccination, if any. All animals shall be consigned to a legal entity authorized by law to do business within the State. Certificates shall be void thirty (30) days after the date of inspection and issuance. No certificate shall be issued unless it can be issued to comply in all respects with requirements of the State of Alabama, unless otherwise specifically authorized in writing.
- Livestock and poultry from states that do not meet Alabama requirements may not enter Alabama unless a special permit is obtained from the State Veterinarian, or his designated representative. Requests for permits shall be directed to the State Veterinarian, 1445 Federal Drive, Montgomery, Alabama 36107, telephone: 334/240-7255, and the following information must be given:
- Complete name and addresses of consignor and consignee,
- A complete description of animals including age, breed and sex of animals, official identification of the animal and/or any other identification, origin of shipment, proposed destination, approximate date of arrival and intended purpose of shipment. No blanket permits will be issued. All permits shall be void fifteen (15) days after date of issuance.
- Owners and operators of railway cars, trucks, airplanes and other conveyances that have been used for movement of any livestock, other animals or poultry infected with, or exposed to, any infectious, contagious or communicable disease shall be required to have such cars, trucks, airplanes and other conveyances thoroughly cleaned and disinfected under official supervision before further use is permissible for the transportation of the livestock.
Owners and operators of railroads, trucks, airplanes or other conveyances used for the transportation of livestock, other animals or poultry should assure themselves that each consignment is prepared for shipment in keeping with the requirements of the State of Alabama, and that it is certified on an approved official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. Such certificates should be attached to the waybill accompanying the shipment or be in the possession of the attendant in charge of the animals.
- Livestock or poultry consigned to an approved slaughter establishment are exempt from Certificates of Veterinary Inspection. They may enter Alabama with an accompanying waybill, bill of sale, or permit issued by state or federal officials of the state of origin.
See General Requirements and Cattle. Entry permit number required.
All llamas, alpacas and camels imported into Alabama must be accompanied by an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection and individual identification by either a USDA metal eartag or tattoo for entry into Alabama. Brucellosis requirement: All camels six months of age or older except castrated males must have a negative brucellosis test within 30 days of entry.
Beef cattle that are 18 months of age and older must be officially identified. All Dairy cattle rodeo stock and cattle for show or exhibition must be officially identified. All cattle must be accompanied by a certificate of veterinary inspection.
Cattle for dairy and breeding purposes may enter Alabama accompanied by an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection and officially identified by ear tag, provided they:
- Originate from Certified-Free Herds
- Originate from a Brucellosis Free state
- Are bulls or females over 18 months of age that originate from herds not under quarantine in a Class A or B state and are negative to an official test for brucellosis within 30 days of entry
- Are bulls or females under 18 months of age.
Alabama will not accept animals from brucellosis infected, exposed or quarantined herds, regardless of their vaccination status. All brucellosis tests of animals which are intended for interstate movement shall be conducted in:
- State/federal laboratories
- Laboratories approved by the proper animal health official of the state of origin
- Commercial laboratories operated under the supervision of the Animal and Plant
- Health Inspection Services, U.S. Department of Agriculture, and approved by the state of origin
Feeder steers and spayed heifers may be imported without brucellosis tests but shall be accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection in accordance with all other regulations.
Cattle for immediate slaughter may enter Alabama without a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection or negative test for brucellosis, if they are consigned to a recognized slaughter center where federal or state meat inspection is maintained (except brucellosis reactors, which must be shipped only to plants operating under state/federal approval to receive such animals and are accompanied by appropriate forms for moving such animals), and shall be considered under quarantine until slaughtered. Such animals shall not be diverted without an official permit from the State Veterinarian of Alabama.
Cattle imported into Alabama do not need a TB test, provided they originate from:
- Herds not under quarantine in a modified accredited TB free area; or
- An accredited TB free area; or
- An accredited TB free here
- Bovine Trichomoniasis (effective 6/21/12)
Bovine trichomoniasis is a venereal disease caused by the protozoon Trichomoniasis foetus. This disease can result in: decreased reproductive efficiency, early embryonic death, abortion, pyometra and transient infertility in infected cattle. Trichomoniasis has the potential to severely impact the reproductive health of cattle in Alabama. In view of the threat posed by this disease to the health of the state’s livestock and the economy of the livestock industry, the following rule will be considered and so ordered by the state veterinarian:All virgin and non-virgin bulls 18 months of age and older entering the state of Alabama must test negative for Trichomoniasis within the 60 days prior to entry into the state. The testing requirements mandate that bulls shall be negative based on one official confirmatory Realtime Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) on a single sample. This test shall be performed by an accredited AAVLD laboratory or other state or federal approved laboratory. All bulls tested must be identified with official USDA approved ear tag. Any bull comingled with cows between testing and importation into Alabama must be retested as outlined above.
All bulls entering the state must be accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI) containing the date of test, name of the lab used for testing, complete address of consignor and consignee, a complete description of the bull including official identification and signature of an accredited veterinarian. Samples collected should not be pooled. Individual samples may be pooled at the approved diagnostic laboratory upon request.The following animals may be exempt from Trichomoniasis testing:
- Exhibition and rodeo bulls that are temporally in the state for the purpose of an event with no comingling with female cattle and will be leaving the state after the event.
- Bulls consigned directly to slaughter.
- Bulls being transported through Alabama in interstate commerce and not offloaded to be comingled with female cattle.
- Virgin bulls under 18 months of age as determined by breed registry records or the absence of permanent central incisor teeth in wear. Virgin bull(s) must be accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI) containing any and all identification, age, signed by an accredited veterinarian and a statement on the CVI declaring that the bull(s) is virgin and less than 18 months of age.
All cervidae, (including deer, elk, caribou, moose, and reindeer) and antelope imported into Alabama must be accompanied by an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection and individual identified. All cervidae six months of age or older must have a negative brucellosis test within 30 days of entry. All cervidae regardless of age must be negative to a single cervical tuberculosis test within 30 days of entry.
- NOTE: Alabama Department of Conservation & Natural Resources, Game and Fish Division, restricts the movement of deer into Alabama. For further information, call (334) 242-3469.
All dogs and domesticated cats to be moved or transported into Alabama for any purpose shall be accompanied by an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection showing that the animals have been officially vaccinated against rabies and identified by vaccination certificates and tags bearing serial numbers not more than one (1) year prior to shipment. Puppies and domesticated kittens under 3 months of age may be admitted without vaccination.
This section does not apply to any dog or cat which is imported into the state for exhibition purposes and which does not remain in the state for more than 21 days. No dog or domesticated cat infested with screwworms shall be shipped or otherwise imported into Alabama for any purpose.
The Alabama Department of Agriculture, State Veterinarian has decided to stop accepting Interstate Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (ICVI), APHIS-VS form 7001 for small animals entering Alabama.
Effective January 1, 2019, APHIS form 7001 “United States Interstate and International Certificate of Health Examination for Small Animals” is no longer approved for interstate movement of small animals into Alabama by the Alabama Department of Agriculture and Industries (AGI). Please be aware that numerous other states are no longer accepting the online-only form, due to its free access to the public for downloading off the internet without any accountability as to who uses the form.
An Interstate Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (ICVI) is an official document issued by an accredited veterinarian certifying that the animal destined for interstate movement is healthy at the time of the veterinary inspection.
Alabama licensed and accredited veterinarians may purchase ICVI booklets by contacting our office at 334-240-7255. Alabama currently accepts electronic ICVI’s provided by Global Vet Link and AgView. Links to these providers are:
Accredited Veterinarians should always check with the state of designation before issuing an ICVI to ensure that all its requirements are met.
For international travel, please check the USDA website for information about the export requirements needed for the movement of pets to other countries:
All goats entering Alabama for purposes other than immediate slaughter must have individual ID and shall be accompanied by an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection stating that they are free from scabies, lice, foot rot, scrapie, blue tongue, and have not been exposed to such diseases.
Goats for dairy purposes ( 6 mo. and older ) must come from a certified brucellosis-free herd or be negative to the brucellosis test within 30 days of date of entry
Goats for dairy purposes (of any age) must come from a certified TB free State or be negative to the TB test within 30 days of date of entry.
The certificate shall certify that the goats are free from scabies and are from flocks, which are not under quarantine for scabies.
Horses, mules and asses may be transported or moved into Alabama when accompanied by an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection stating that they are apparently free of any contagious, infectious or communicable disease. No certificates will be required on horses or mules of the United States Army. Equine Infectious Anemia All equidae more than 6 months of age that enter Alabama, except for immediate slaughter, shall be accompanied by evidence of a negative test approved by the State Veterinarian for the detection of equine infectious anemia performed not more than 12 months prior to entry. This information must be recorded on the official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. No equidae that react positive to a test for equine infectious anemia shall be imported into Alabama for any purpose, except upon written per-mission of the State Veterinarian of Alabama, and only then if the animals are branded and moved in accordance with Title 9, Part 75.4(c)(3) of the CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS, and if the animals are maintained in quarantine as set out in the Alabama Animal Industry Regulation 80-3-4-.05 All other movements must be under permit from the State Veterinarian.
Not withstanding any provision of law to the contrary, it shall be illegal to own, maintain, sell, or trade any canidae or felidae for which there is not a USDA licensed rabies vaccine.
Anyone currently owning or maintaining such animal may keep the animal for the length of the animal’s life providing the animal is spayed or neutered and is registered with the Department of Agriculture and Industries. This section does not apply to any zoological parks, circuses, colleges, and universities, animal refuges approved by the Department of Agriculture and Industries, county or municipal humane shelters, the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources, or veterinary clinics.
- All poultry, including but not limited to hatching eggs, chicks, poults, poultry breeding stock, gamebirds, exhibition and hobby farm poultry moving into Alabama for exhibition, show, sale, change of ownership, or any other purpose, that are not participating in the Pullorum-Typhoid (PT) Clean and Avian Influenza (AI) Clean programs of the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) shall be tested negative for PT and AI using an approved serology or antigen detection test or other test approved by the state veterinarian within 21 days prior to movement.
- All poultry, including but not limited to hatching eggs, chicks, poults, poultry breeding stock, gamebirds, exhibition and hobby farm poultry moving into Alabama must be accompanied by an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI) or a NPIP Form 9-2 or NPIP Form 9-3 with test results included on form.
- Poultry consigned to an approved slaughter establishment are exempt from Certificates of Veterinary Inspection. They may enter Alabama with an accompanying waybill, bill of sale, or permit issued by state or federal officials of the state of origin.
- All other movements must be under permit from the State Veterinarian.
All sheep entering Alabama for purposes other than immediate slaughter must have individual ID and shall be accompanied by an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection stating that they are free from scabies, lice, foot rot, scrapie, blue tongue, and have not been exposed to such diseases.
Sheep or lambs must be from a state/federal approved scabies-free area. If not from a scabies-free area, they must be dipped in an approved dip within 15 days of shipment.
No sheep known to be infected with scrapie, and no progeny of sheep known to be infected with scrapie, may be transported or moved into Alabama